Positive Transitions into Reception Classes - Guidance and Free CPD

From: Ask CYPS <askcyps@bristol.gov.uk>
Sent: 02 March 2022 15:40
Subject: Positive Transitions into Reception Classes – Guidance and Free CPD


Dear Early Years Leaders in schools,

Please share the information below with your EYFS team and school SENCo.

POSITIVE TRANSITIONS IN TO RECEPTION – launch of Bristol Early Years guidance and website pages   

In response to the Local Area SEND Inspection and following a sector-wide consultation, Bristol Early Years have developed detailed guidance to support positive transitions from nurseries and preschools into reception classes in schools.

This guidance has been written to support schools and early years settings to provide all children with a positive transition experience, with a particular focus on children with SEND. It builds on exiting good practice to provide clarity regarding responsibilities, processes and strategies that support transition to enable a coherent city-wide approach.

We encourage you to try to ensure that an EYFS representative from your school attends one of the free Network CPD Sessions, and that your school SENCo attends one of the Early Years SENCO clusters. These sessions will provide the opportunity to look in detail at the guidance, discuss processes with colleagues and explore transition resources available on the Bristol Early Years website. We will also consider the new Universal Transfer Record that has been updated following the EYFS reforms.

Positive Transitions in the Early Years Network CPD sessions for all EYFS practitioners 

Wednesday 16th March 1pm – 3pm


Monday March 4pm – 6pm


Wednesday 23rd March 6.30pm -8.30pm


Early Years SENCo Transition Clusters for SENCos in early years settings and schools 

Exploring the new guidance and supporting transition of children with SEND with a focus on transfers into reception classes.

Tuesday March 22nd 2pm – 4pm. Venue – Oldbury Court Children’s centre


Thursday 24th March 1.30pm – 3.30pm. Online session.



Deborah Brown - (General Enquries)
Dawn Butler - (General Enquiries)
Nicola Theobald - (General and Nursery School Enquiries)
Sharon McDonald - (Childminder Enquiries)